Two thumbs up for GW2!

Balandar

After 3 days of beta “testing” I will definitely be playing the release. I’ll be canceling my SWTOR account as well when this comes out. I keep jumping from game to game ever since UO died down. I've been playing MMOs since 1997. This is the one I'll be staying with until something else stirs up the MMO world.

I only noticed one ‘bug’ where an npc was female but the voice-over was male. Otherwise, it didn't feel like beta. It was very polished.

Screenshots

What I liked:

1. The graphics are stunning; it’s like playing in a painting, very artistic.
  2. Crafting and the harvesting of ore, gems, wood, mushrooms, etc. You get nodes to harvest and they appear for every person, so if someone grabs it you can too rather than it being gone for good. I'm not sure how WoW does this, but it reminded me of my UO days.
  3. Skills are simple and straightforward, you do not have 4 quick bars of 12 slots each full of skills. And what's cool is that they are based on the weapon you hold. So a scepter may give you a different set of skills than a hatchet.
  4. Snow! I always liked snow in games, and in Hoelbrak, when graphics are maxed, you can see your foot prints! The graphics of snow remind of DAoC a lot, which I really enjoyed. The reflections off of frozen lakes is really cool.
  5. The character customization at the beginning. Everything from eye slant, to how big you want the upper lip, to how long you want their chin. You can spend a good 20 minutes creating your character.
  6. MASSIVE world, but it’s quick to get to other places via waypoints and gates. I only scratched the surface. The world is just huge.
  7. Every race has a unique starting area and main fight/boss. They drop you right into something that feels epic and you’re not starting out killing womp rats.
  8. Underwater combat and swimming! Water isn't something to just swim across, you can enter any body of water and find something in the depths.